Heelan Unveils Hall of PRIDE

10 Voted into Heelan Hall of PRIDE
Posted on 05/13/2022
Bishop Heelan High School has created a Hall of PRIDE to showcase alumni who have contributed to Heelan’s athletic success and created lifelong memories for fans, friends and families. 

The 10 inaugural class members in A-to-Z order are: Carli (Tritz) Berger, 2010; Mike Courey, 1977 (deceased); Nate Funk 2002; John Harty, 1977; Jon LaFleur, 1993; Ray Lemek, 1952 (deceased); Leo Miller, 1962 (deceased); Eugene Mollet, 1972; Mary Schrad, 1974 and Don Wengert, 1988.

The inaugural class members will be honored at a Heelan football game Friday, Oct. 7 . They will be formally inducted in the Hall of PRIDE Oct. 8 during a banquet at the Sioux City Convention Center. 

They represent a wide variety of Heelan sports over six decades.

Nominations were opened in 2021 for consideration by the nine-member Hall of PRIDE executive committee representing former boys and girls coaches, athletes and teachers. 

The completion of the new high school and outdoor courtyard allowed school leaders to focus on adding another new feature to Heelan, according to Jay Wright, co-athletic director. 

“Bishop Heelan enjoys a rich history of athletic success on the field and on the court,” Wright says. “We are excited to celebrate the student-athletes who made memories and enshrine them in a Heelan Hall of PRIDE so their stories can continue to be told to future Crusaders for generations to come."

A Hall of Fame has been a dream at Heelan, added Tom Betz, a 1985 Heelan grad, former athlete and coach, now vice president of advancement. “This will spark a thousand stories that help tell the history of Heelan,” Betz says.

Persons are eligible for the Hall of PRIDE five years after graduation. Criteria includes All State, State Champions, Post High School Achievement and those who have made exceptional contributions to the athletic programs at Bishop Heelan Catholic High School.

The Hall of PRIDE will tentatively be displayed in an area of the O’Gorman Fieldhouse and on the school website viewable 24 hours a day. To learn more contact Wright at Heelan 252-0892.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.