Heelan Students Help Lead City Commission

Heelan Students Lead Mayor's Youth Commission
Posted on 12/23/2022
Bishop Heelan seniors Kayla Jabre and Ayla Nelson have completed their terms as Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem of the Sioux City Mayor’s Youth Commission (MYC) for 2022. Junior Maria McGowan has been sworn in as Co-Mayor Pro Tem for 2023.

They are leaders in the 75-member student organization. 
MYC members meet every month at City Hall and ultimately volunteer thousands of hours each year for community activities involving city parks, ArtSplash, public forums, non-profit fundraisers, a Disc Golf Course and more.

Heelan students make up over half of the MYC membership. It engages teens from all city high schools and also provides a forum to address needs, issues and activities affecting the city’s youth. Members serves as mentors for 76 Young Ambassadors.

Heelan freshmen and sophomores apply to be members, enjoy meetings and activities and finish their membership half-way through senior year.

MYC said farewell to 13 outgoing members and welcomed these 14 new Bishop Heelan members.

Grace Aesoph
William Bertrand
Caitlyn Bloch
Owen Greaves
Sam Grieve
Austin Kathol
Anya O'Connor
Natalie Patee
Grace Roerig
CJ Rooney
Emma Schultz
Willie Sebastian Lorenzo
Ben Tooley
Solomon Walker
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.